I Used To Be A Sparrow – Luke


My six year old daughter is helping me with this review so we will go through each song and see what happens:

Cambodia: “I think it sounds happy.”

Life is Good: “Kinda like in different notes and sounds; too cool and  awesome-yeah man!”

Smoke: “(She is shaking her marimbas) and says it sounds like rattlesnakes.  Sounds calm.”

Let Go: “Sounds like kutcha-kutcha-kumba.  Sounds so loud it can pop my eardrum out!”

Hawaii: “Sounds like an electric . . . who are you sending this to? Like the whole world! A calm song.”

Lovers On The Moon: “Sounds like blowing like this phhhhttttt.  A little noisy at the end.”

Moby Dick: “Sounds sad to me.”

Luke: “Do do do do do do do do do at the end, the beginning: like a plane is landing, real noisy”

Give It Up: “Sounds like Hawaii (she is doing a wee cute hula dance)”

Copenhagen: “Jamming guitar (my girl is doing a radical air-guitar and high pitched singing and jumping)!”

Alaska: “{Air drums to start) calm fade out.”

The album feels happy. Every song! She would like all her friends to know that this album is Amazing and Awesome and Cool!

I Used To Be A Sparrow – Life Is Good

I Used To Be A Sparrow – Copenhagen

With such a poetic shot at their name  I Used To Be A Sparrow is a unique compromise between the powerful impact of an arena rock act and the urgency and dirt of a garage band, with a fondness for heartfelt songs.

Dick Pettersson and Andrea Caccese definitely know how to stay busy.

The former has been rocking the Swedish indie music scene with acclaimed alt-rock group “In These Woods”, and the latter is an Italian-born songwriter who has been gaining recognition all over Europe as “Songs For The Sleepwalkers”.

The pair teamed up in December 2011 to create something new and exciting. The ideas and songs that were brought up to the table eventually turned into a full length album.

http://iusedtobeasparrow.bandcamp.com/

~ by castleqwayr on March 24, 2012.

Leave a comment