First Listen: David Dondero, ‘Number Zero With A Bullet’


Dondero is a brilliant storyteller and poet. His searching melodies and distinctive voice are heartbreakingly beautiful and uplifting. But after a decade of releasing albums, Dondero remains criminally unknown. The Austin, Texas-based singer takes a funny swipe at his own obscurity on his latest album, Number Zero With a Bullet, a title that suggests Dondero’s years of hard work have catapulted him straight to the bottom.

“Yeah, I know where I stand in the game,” Dondero says. “[It] doesn’t mean I’m not gonna keep playing. I didn’t think I had another song in me, but here we go again. They just crept up and wouldn’t leave me alone, wouldn’t let me sleep. I don’t even know where the hell they came from or remember how they got here.” Read More and Listen to Album @ NPR.ORG

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128671305

~ by castleqwayr on July 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
