Sara Lov – So Near, Only a Heartbreak Away . . .


Sara Lov has a very kind and youthful sounding voice.  It brings to my mind Leigh Nash of Sixpence None the Richer and Sufjan Steven’s one time collaborator Rosie Thomas.  She has something to say and the need to make it clear and known. There is an emotional import that makes you want to feel what Sara feels and maybe know a bit more what Ms. Lov has known.

Sara Lov – Hold Me Now (Thompson Twins)

Sara Lov – Seasoned Eyes Were Beaming

Bio:   “Simple and sad with a shot of scotch.” That’s how musician Sara Lov describes her simultaneously dark and angelic sound that has been also described as “honeyed” (NME),

“haunting” (The Sun), and “smokey” (MOJO).

The former frontwoman of Devics and current solo singer paints an apt picture of melodies that are both minimalist and poignant, and heady vocals that warm you from the inside.

For a singer freshly on her own, Lov (no, the “e” isn’t missing, and yes, that’s her real name) exudes immense confidence. The artist was formerly a part of indie favorite dream pop band Devics, a critical favorite in the UK where they were famously signed to Bella Union by Cocteau Twins’ Simon Raymond.

It is perhaps because of the success of Devics that Lov finds the idea of
going out on her own exciting, if a little unnerving.  “I learn every day and doing scary things makes me grow,” Lov says. “Dustin [O’Halloran, the other half of Devics] and I make wonderful music together, but like every creative person there’s always that insistent urge to write both music and lyrics for yourself, test yourself, challenge yourself.”

Lov views much of her life in a similar way – taking something frightening that could have overwhelmed others, and making it a positive influence on her life and music.  At the age of five, the Hawaiian-born Lov was kidnapped by her father and taken to Israel, then Minnesota, and then ended up in L.A. at age 12 where she was raised by her uncle. “My father really encouraged me creatively,” Lov says.  “The one thing I am certain of is that for most of my young life, music was the consistency and stability I had. It was my escape and my sanity.”

Info – info@saralov.com

Sara Lov
sara@saralov.com
youtube
twitter
facebook
www.myspace.com/saralov

www.devics.com
www.myspace.com/devics

~ by castleqwayr on July 14, 2010.

15 Responses to “Sara Lov – So Near, Only a Heartbreak Away . . .”

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing, she’s adorable! You made me a fan. 🙂
    http://www.denwrites.com

  2. I really love her song. very calm

  3. Little wonder Sara’s reticent to appear in her own videos. She looks like Ringo Starr circa Please, Please Me. Excessively morose by comparison to Devics for all that Fountain is lovely, and the videos are horrible. Still, nice one on making FP. And thanks for reminding me how much I love Rosie Thomas’ “Wedding Day”. Think I’ll listen to that now.

  4. I love the song “New York”! I’m definitely sharing this one!

  5. This is exactly the kind of music i want to write and you just inspired me…thank you so much. I love your music

  6. Love this kind of music! ♥

  7. Great post! I really dig Sara Lov 🙂 Not many people know about her! Sweet as.

  8. It is a very calming song indeed.
    http://noor724.wordpress.com/
    🙂

  9. Great song.I like her song.

  10. I love being introduced to new artists… thanks.

  11. Very nice. I’ll be sharing this.

    Check Us Out! A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage!
    Road Rage with A & A

  12. What a cool blog you have! I especially enjoyed “A Thousand Bees”… compelling and pretty stuff!

  13. Song is great.I’m like her song.

  14. […] Sara Lov – So Near, Only a Heartbreak Away . . . (via Heroes of Indie Music) Sara Lov has a very kind and youthful sounding voice.  It brings to my mind Leigh Nash of Sixpence None the Richer and Sufjan Steven's one time collaborator Rosie Thomas.  She has something to say and the need to make it clear and known. There is an emotional import that makes you want to feel what Sara feels and maybe know a bit more what Ms. Lov has known. Sara Lov – Hold Me Now (Thompson Twins) Sara Lov – Seasoned Eyes Were Beaming Bio:   “Sim … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

 
