First Listen: The New Pornographers, ‘Together’

The New Pornographers’ fifth album, Together, strings together another string of unimpeachable pop gems, whether they’re lush Neko Case- and Kathryn Calder-sung ballads (“My Shepherd”), weird Dan Bejar-sung seethers (“Silver Jenny Dollar”) or grandiose A.C. Newman-sung blowouts (“The Moves”). Newman, Case and Bejar all get their due here, with the help of contributors both permanent (Calder, guitarist Todd Fancey, et al) and transient (Okkervil River‘s Will Sheff, St. Vincent‘s Annie Clark, Beirut‘s Zach Condon, the horns of The Dap-Kings).

These are the songs of summer — it’s no surprise that The New Pornographers’ records tend to come out near the middle of the year — with more than enough staying power to outlive the season. Together will stream here in its entirety until its release on May 4. Please leave your thoughts on the album in the comments section below. Compliments to NPR (read more at link below)

Listen to Complete Album @NPR.ORG

~ by castleqwayr on April 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: