Jonathan Sakas – Electronic Symphonic Rage

Main Entry: al·ba·tross
Pronunciation: \ˈal-bə-ˌtrȯs, -ˌträs\
Function: noun
Inflected Form(s): plural al·ba·tross or al·ba·tross·es
Etymology: probably alteration of obsolete alcatrace frigate bird, from Spanish or Portuguese alcatraz pelican, from Arabic al-ghaṭṭās, a kind of sea eagle

Date: 1672

1 : any of a family (Diomedeidae) of large web-footed seabirds that have long slender wings, are excellent gliders, and include the largest seabirds
2 a : something that causes persistent deep concern or anxiety b : something that greatly hinders accomplishment : encumbrance

Jonathan Sakas is a singer/songwriter/producer triple threat that creates lush, varied soundscapes with futuristic synthesizers, mesmerizing rhythms, and solid songwriting seamlessly layered with dark, deep crooning vocals to make electronic rock that infuses rock, dance, pop into songs that are both DIY and mainstream, progressive and accessible, all while maintaining an iconic, dangerous allure that drives a fast growing fan base and critics wild.

Here is my review of the CD: Albatross by Jonathan Sakas

The overall vibe is Electronica with a New Order sensibility, especially in the voice and a number of slower, sometimes plodding songs.  More explanation in a minute. 

  1. Striker – is a good solid song and a good intro to the disc
  2. Driver – is slower and a bit laborious 
  3. Porridge – is a nice stew with an interesting quick arrangement
  4. Hindu – is a bit of a navel-gazer more similar in vibe to eastern Confucianism
  5. Fall – a nice New Order sounding track
  6. Oysters – nice symphonic electronica with a much appreciated vein of rage
  7. Marie – Like the soundtrack to a modern Shakespeare play
  8. Lion – too slow for my taste, needs more diversity
  9. Grapes – Overall a great track – a little rage might season this nicely
  10. Stay – Orchestral ending with the seasoning of choice – brilliant



~ by castleqwayr on April 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: