Ribbons – Free TRIP/Gaze Concert

Download >>>>  Ribbons – Total Loss  


Contact info/booking: ribbonsnyc@gmail.com “Ribbons are a duo of Brooklyn the most promising rock debuts I’ve heard in a long while. Consisting of vocalist/guitarist/bassist Jenny Logan and drummer/backing vocalist Sam Roudman, they deliver the raw, stripped intensity of early Factory Records stalwarts like the Durutti Column and Joy Division while harnessing the propulsion, angularity, and energy of a group like Josef K. Though this sound has most certainly been reexamined by plenty of bands, it’s refreshing to hear Logan’s distinctly female take on what has always been a male-dominated style, both vocally and instrumentally. Roudman ends up being the secret weapon, though, keeping things interesting with his wild, propulsive, Keith Moon-meets-Stephen Morris style, while his roots playing in metal bands definitely shine through in his double-time bass drum attacks and odd, wailing vocal harmonies. Over the course of 35 minutes, the group play through variations on a theme, keeping the intensity high and the tension taut throughout. These two are worth keeping an eye on — definitely recommended!” -IQ, Other Music update, September 2008… Surprise Attacks is available on iTunes and Amazon, and at Other Music and Sound Fix.


~ by castleqwayr on October 31, 2009.

One Response to “Ribbons – Free TRIP/Gaze Concert”

  1. […] Ribbons – Free TRIP/Gaze Concert […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: