What’s in a Name? By Sufjan Stevens


San Diego by Asthmatic Kitty Records.

What’s in a Name? By Sufjan Stevens Friday, April 24th, 2009 After a few years moving in and out of various towns, religious cults, faddish diets, etc., my parents finally sat me down and apologized for the weird name they gave me. “We were out of our minds!” they admitted. “We didn’t know what we were thinking!” To make up for it, they said, I could change my name to anything I wanted. Anything at all. Something familiar, normal, American, easy-to-spell, perhaps? It was totally up to me. What democracy! What fun! I scanned the possibilities: Benjamin, Jason, Derek, Chad. Endlessly delightful, perfectly ordinary candidates! I was given a week to decide, and a Webster’s dictionary. I scavenged for something conventional, conservative, and concise: Calvin, Colin, Jeremy, Kenneth. I was drawn to the monosyllables of Bob, Rob, Don, John, Dirk, Chad, and Chuck. Oh! To be summoned with one simple, single-syllable sound of the English language. Dave! Matt! Mike! Pat! Pete! Paul! No more spitballs behind the ears and getting my lights punched out behind the dugouts. No more dizzying taunts and esoteric rhyme schemes at recess. No more pokes in the ribs and jokes in the locker room. I was going to be just like Carl and Scott and Steve and Rick and Gordon and Aaron and all those other handy-dandy factory pre-made key-chain-name-tag-button-shot-glass-sticker-greeting-card names you find at gas stations!

Read rest of Sufjan’s Tale here: http://sidebar.asthmatickitty.com/archives/1867

When oh when is his new album coming out?

Technical Equipment Interview:

http://www.thebuddyproject.com/news/sufjan_tapeop_0309/sufjan_tapeop0309_1.html

~ by castleqwayr on June 10, 2009.

One Response to “What’s in a Name? By Sufjan Stevens”

  1. […] What’s in a Name? By Sufjan Stevens […]

Leave a Reply

 
